Hmmmmm..... Firmware updates should not be deleting your favorites, UNLESS you jumped over several updates. I am going to assume that this only happened once (because I've updated firmware on my 350 five times and it only removed my favorites once, which was the first time). I agree that there is a warning with each update that if you are not updating from a previous version, you will lose your user data, but now that you've lost it once, it should never happen again (provided, of course, that you update each time an update is made available). If you have Mapsource loaded on a computer, you can also transfer your Waypoints (favorites) to Mapsource, then back to the device after the firmware update. Again, however, as long as you have the previous update on your device, updates will not remove your favorites.